• Film Lighting Department
  • Top Technicians Management +61 (0)2 9958 1611
  • Australian Directors Guild
  • VA Digital Hire
  • Auscrew - Film and Video Booking Service +61 (0)2 9427 4444
  • Black Bishop Films
  • Australian Production Design Guild (APDG)
  • Australian Cinematographers Society
  • Get Support

ADG 2013 Awards Nominations

The Australian Directors Guild has announced nominations in the 2013 ADG Awards, to be presented at a ceremony in Sydney on May 3.

The Awards celebrate the outstanding work of Australian screen directors over the past year across 17 categories including film, television, multiplatform, music and advertising.

Rachel Perkins, Leah Purcell and Catriona McKenzie are each nominated for an episode of Redfern Now in the TV Drama Series category, with Peter Duncan and Kate Dennis both nominated for episodes of Rake.

Cate Shortland (Lore), Wayne Blair (The Sapphires), Tony Krawitz (Dead Europe) and Kieran Darcy-Smith (Wish You Were Here) have been nominated in the Feature Film category.

Jeffrey Walker (Jack Irish – Bad Debts), Rachel Perkins (Mabo), Glendyn Ivin (Beaconsfield) and Robert Connolly (Underground: The Julian Assange story) are nominated in the Telemovie category.

Nominees for the Esben Storm Award for Best Direction in a Children’s TV Program are Ralph Strasser (A Gurls Wurld), Lynn-Maree Danzey (Dance Academy, Series 2, Ep 8 “Connectivity”), Evan Clarry (Lightning Point) and Daniel Nettheim (Dance Academy, Series 2, Ep 25 “The Second”).

Documentary (Standalone) nominees are Madeleine Parry (Meatwork), Russell Vines (The Man Who Jumped), Cathy Henkel (Show Me The Magic) and Steve Peddie (The Bombing of Darwin: An Awkward Truth).

Jennifer Peedom (Life at 7), Luke Eve (Great Southern Land) and Lisa Matthews (Australia on Trial) are the nominees in the Documentary Series category.

ontinuing the strong representation by women directors, Jessica Hobbs (Devil’s Dust Part 1 & 2) and Daina Reid (Howzat! Kerry Packer’s War) are both nominated in the TV Mini Series category, with Ian Watson (Underbelly Badness Ep 5).

Nominees in the Documentary Feature category are Grace McKenzie (Audrey of the Alps), Christopher Neilus & Justin McMillan (Storm Surfers 3D) and Ian Darling (Paul Kelly – Stories of Me).

In the TV Drama Serial category, nominees are Scott Hartford Davis (Home and Away Ep 5600), David Gould (Home and Away Ep 5438) and Jo O’Shaughnessy (Neighbours Ep 6472).

Nominees in the Original Online category are Christiaan Van Vuuren and Connor Van Vuuren for Bondi Hipsters and Sam Doust for The Opera House Project. Cross Platform nominees are David Barker (Bad Reality), Zak Hilditch (Henry & Aaron’s 7 Steps to Superstardom) and Ahmed Salama (Andy X – Online).

Music category nominees are Jad Haber (Good Clean Fun), Nash Edgerton (Duquesne Whistle), Morgan Christie (Miracle Cure) and Paul Komadina (Wise Up - Ruby Boots).

Directors nominated in the Short Film category are Michael Spiccia (Yardbird), Jessica Redenbach (Tender), Matthew Moore (Julian) and Scott Mannion (AnimA).

The TV Comedy nominees are Dario Russo (Danger 5), Christiaan Van Vuuren and Connor Van Vuuren (Sick!) and Trent O’Donnell (A Moody Christmas).

TVC nominees are Tim Bullock (Flatties), Matt Humphrey (It Starts With a New Idea) and Sean Meehan (VW Grandpa).

The nominees in the Student Film category are Dominique Haslam (Sweet), Fiona Dalwood (Good Grief), Adrian Goodman (Wakey Wakey) and Marieka Walsh (The Hunter).

The 2013 ADG Awards will also acknowledge the work of a First Assistant Director with Jamie Leslie to receive the Award for his significant body of work.